4 Categories of Challenges.

Tonight I had my managerial finance class. This class has been a genuine struggle for me, but I am making it through and I have learned a lot. My professor is a wise man with lots of “real world” experience in both life and in business. Dr. Smith wanted to give us a few words of wisdom before we parted from his class and into the real world. One thing he said tonight has really gotten me analyzing my life and I wanted to share this with you. I encourage you to make your own analyzation. I think a lot can come from it and changes can be made according to where you need change.

He started by saying that every challenge you face in life falls into one of four categories:

(1) Physical, (2) Emotional, (3) Intellectual and (4) Spiritual.

1. Physical–  The challenge to this category often involves personally dealing with physical pain, hardship or overcoming some sort of physical disadvantage where physical strength is needed. I can relate to this as I have had loved ones suffer in pain up until their death. This was a physical challenge for them, as well as to me, as I had to overcome the physical toll it took on me to accept the fact that I was going to lose them.

2. Emotional– An example of a challenge in this category is dealing with people letting you done. People are going to let you down daily, whether it be in you place of work, your family, friends, etc. Dealing with this let down can take an emotional impact on you and overcoming it can certainly be a challenge.

3. Intellectual– Everyone, no matter how smart you are, will be challenged intellectually. For me, finance is an intellectual challenge. It is something that takes a lot of work for me to understand, and even then, I fail to see the desirable results of my time and effort. I have been intellectually challenged all semester by one class needed for my degree, but I will overcome it. I have been challenged intellectually in my job as I do not have all of the information required to do my job sometimes, but I find the information and I overcome the challenge. I learn daily in school, work, relationships, etc. and I overcome intellectual challenges.

4. Spiritual– No matter what you believe, you have spiritual challenges. For me, as a Christian, I have the challenge of having faith in tough times. Faith that everything happens for a reason. Faith that everything will work out the way it is meant to. This is a huge challenge for me on days when I cannot see the light at the end of the tunnel. I overcome these challenges by praying and asking God to show me the light, and He delivers.

Challenges are an inevitable facet of life, no matter who you are or where you are in life. Challenges are placed in our way, not to punish us, but to make us stronger and to guide us in a direction best suited for our future. Challenges take our limits and push them past our comfort zone. Focus on the areas you are challenged in most while maintaining the others. Making an effort goes a long way to bettering your life. Overcoming challenges, no matter how difficult they may seem, is doable with effort and time.

What challenges do you face and which of the categories do you see the most challenges? How do you handle them and overcome them?

Thanks for reading!

Brandon.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Thanks for reading! What did you think?

