Working For A Company That Works For You

As an upcoming MBA graduate, I have started to think about where I would like to apply for jobs to begin life “in the real world”. I have started looking on the commonly used career sites to see what is available, talked to the Career Development Center on campus and have thought about the companies that are near me. I have done my research on a few that stand out to me as possibilities and have eliminated some solely due to their corporate culture.

It is important to find an employer that feels you are a good fit for their company. This normally entails an employer finding candidates that have the skills and knowledge that the company needs or desires. However, I feel that it is even more important that the company they are interested in is a good fit of them. There is a lot to be said for working at a company that also works for you. Having employees who want to be at work and who want to do well because they like the company they work for eliminates the bulk of the turnover rate for employees.  

I have had the pleasure of working for a company for the past year that also works for me. I have a lot of flexibility in schedule, they have an excellent corporate culture, the management team is very relatable and the overall company seems to fit a lot of what is important to me.

I wanted to share an article I saw this past week that I think will help with assuring that the company you are interviewing with is a good fit for you. This article lists questions that are good to ask the interviewer when its time to let them know what questions you have for them.  The specific questions that I feel are most important in discovering if you are right for the fit include:

  • Can you describe a typical day or week in the position?
  • How would you describe the culture here? What type of people tend to really thrive, and what type don’t do as well?
  • How would you describe your management style?
  • Are there any reservations you have about my fit for the position that I could try to address?

Even though we all have our own personalities, I want to encourage you to gradually try different things outside your comfort zone. I feel this is critically important to diversifying yourself as a person and as an employee. When I first started working in customer service, I was an introvert. I needed a job and customer service was all that I could find available in the area I was in. It forced me to come “out of my shell” and I have learned how to become engaged with people. My first customer service job has enabled me to excel in the customer service jobs that followed that one. This has not only helped me in the workforce, but it has helped me in school and in my personal life.

Deciding if a company is a good match for you requires research and establishing your willingness to go outside your comfort zone. A lot of information about the company can be found on their websites, from the company’s employees, from interviews, etc. Do your research before you sit down with a manager for an interview…doing so will save yourself and the manager valuable time.

Thanks for reading!

Brandon.

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “Working For A Company That Works For You

  1. jroselle says:

    Brandon:

    It’s been stated by more than one hiring expert that many of the people at companies that do the hiring are as insecure at what they are doing as the applicant might be at what he/she is doing. Good insight on your part!

    • Thanks for the compliment! I have been on numerous interviews where it was very clear that the person interviewing me was very nervous. Most probably did not get questions asked to them…it was kind of fun! haha!

  2. David Arsenault says:

    Brandon:
    Great post. As a leader who is responsible for recruiting I find it absolutely critical that the candidate be a good fit for the company and that he or she know’s that its a great fit. That alone makes working so much more enjoyable. You may have already read this but check out “Start With Why” by Simon Sinek. It’s a great book that can help you get to the all important fit. Cheers!

  3. [...] 3. Working For A Company That Works For You [...]

Thanks for reading! What did you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

