The Truth About Aggressive Selling.

Why is it that people in sales (sales associates, car salesmen, etc.) feel the need to be aggressive in their tactics? Sometimes I feel as if they are all but reaching in my pocket, pulling out my cash and putting it in the register. I’m not sure how any logical person can justify this tactic.

I have had about six jobs in my life. All but one involved some sort of customer service and/or sales and I can honestly say, this has never been my tactic. I have been persistent, but I have never been pushy. Yes, there is a difference. I was taught from a very early age that being aggressive is not the way to make sales. It encourages short term success, not long lasting success. This was taught to me by my father, someone that has been in sales literally his entire life. My dad was the foundation for my personal selling tactics for sales. He owned and operated a Stanley Steemer franchise when I was little and due to his sales, he rose near the top of the company quickly. He then transferred into the car selling industry, an industry filled with pushy sales people, and he is the best car salesperson in his area, Western Kentucky. How did he get to where he is? By treating people the way he wants to be treated. Nothing makes him more mad than being pushed into a sale, therefore, he does not do that when he is selling. When I first watched him sell cars, you get the feeling that the customers trust him, something that is highly important when selling used vehicles.

My dad does not make a lot of money, but the respect he has in his area more than makes up for the lack of salary. His area is strugglingly economically, but my dad is able to sell enough to pay his bills and save a little. He has built a strong customer base that tends to run deep throughout the local families, all because of how he treated the first family member he sold to.

It seems that often times, a person in sales only realizes the surface potential of the sale. They fail to acknowledge the potential in the future due to the sale the are trying to make in the present. It is important to note that when you are selling to customer, you are not just selling a product they need. If you do a good job, you will eventually sell to their family and friends. If you fail to do a good job, you will not see that customer again, and you will never meet their family, losing out on future opportunities.

Patience and selling go hand-in-hand. Being an aggressive salesperson will end your career very quickly. You will find yourself surrounded by a community that does not trust you and you will find yourself without a stable income which will lead to other problems in your life.

If there is one thing that I have learned form my father it is this: You have to meet people on their terms if you want to build a relationship with customers. With the number of options consumers have today, I feel that this is as important as its ever been. The power has shifted to the consumer, what will you do to keep them happy?

So what is The Truth About Aggressive Selling? The truth is, that its a dead end street filled with hardship after hardship. Be the salesperson you have good experiences with.

Thanks for reading!

Brandon.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Truth About Aggressive Selling.

  1. jroselle says:

    Brandon: Great post. As usual you’re thinking is right on the money.

    Any idiot can sell. The real pros, the cream that rises to the top and stays there, are the ones that can make a sale but more importantly THEY CAN MAKE A FRIEND. A true friend is loyal. A true friend trusts you. A true friend comes back to you when they need help. And they’ll find you wherever you are. That’s all you need to do!

    Have a nice day.

  2. Thank you very much Mr. Roselle! I completely agree that “any idiot can sell”, as I have worked with them for short periods of time, which is why I made the point that by being aggressive your career will end quickly. It’s nice to be out at dinner in the town I work at, see someone that I previously helped with a purchase at work, and have them remember me and acknowledge who I am at the restaurant. THAT is when I know I’ve left a positive impression. What a fulfilling feeling that goes beyond the paycheck!

Thanks for reading! What did you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

